Connect with us


No Surprises As Bryant And Correa Take Home Rookie Of The Year Honors

By Ricky Chek

Follow Ricky Chek on Twitter

The award ceremonies carried on Monday as MLB announced the 2015 Rookies of the Year.

Kris Bryant won the National League trophy in what seemed, and was, a no-brainer. The Cubs’ third baseman tallied all 30 of the first place votes totaling 150 points running away with the voting. Bryant batted a solid .275 pairing that with 26 homeruns and 99 RBIs with a .369 on base percentage. Bryant led the young Chicago team to the third best record in baseball and bringing the lovable losers back to playoffs before losing in the NLCS to the New York Mets. The next best was San Francisco Giants third baseman, Matt Duffy followed up by Pirates’ infielder Jung Ho Kang.

The AL race was much closer than most may have expected. Astros shortstop, Carlos Correa edged out his Indians counterpart Francisco Lindor. Correa received 124 points and 17 first place votes while Lindor had 109 points and 13 first place votes. Although both had solid rookie campaigns it was Correa’s Astros that was able to make the postseason for the first time since 2005 and possibly the deciding factor in voting. Correa, the youngest player in the majors, hit .279 to go with 68 RBIs and 14 steals. His 22 bombs were the most among all American League rookies.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *