Connect with us


Arrieta and Keuchel Are Tops Among MLB Arms in 2015

By Ryan Adams

Follow Ryan on Twitter
You always remember your first. In baseball, as in life, sometimes your first isn’t always your last. On Wednesday evening, the 2015 Cy Young Awards would be handed out. For the Astros Dallas Keuchel and Cubs Jake Arrieta, their first Cy Young awards may not be their last. The two were the only 20-game winners in all of baseball in 2015.
Arrieta, who finished the year 22-6 with a 1.77 ERA with the Cubs was a key part of their post-season run. He was 2-1 with a 3.33 ERA in the playoffs. Maybe more impressive is his 36-13 record in two plus seasons with Chicago between 2013-2015. Arrieta received 17 first place votes beating out Dodgers Zack Greinke and Klayton Kershaw.
For Keuchel, who received 20 first place votes, he finished 2015 with a 20-8 record and a 2.48 ERA for the Astros and went 2-0 with a 2.57 ERA in the post-season this year. There was also that incredibly impressive home record of 15-0 at Minute Maid Park in Houston. Keuchel, who’s been with the Astros his entire career since coming into the Majors back in 2012, has a career 41-35 record but is 32-17 over the last two seasons.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *